How much do I have to smoke to get lung, throat, or mouth cancer? Do I already have it?


How much do I have to smoke to get lung, throat, or mouth cancer? Do I already have it?

How much do I have to smoke to get lung, throat, or mouth cancer? Do I already have it?


How much do I have to smoke to get lung, throat, or mouth cancer? Do I already have it?

Okay so I am 16. I know I shouldn’t be smoking but I made the terrible decision of trying it a couple times and now I can’t stop. I have been smoking since mid-January and now I’m getting paranoid about cancer and other problems. I know it’s only been like two and a half months and people usually get cancer after years and years of smoking, but I just saw a Tobacco-Free commercial where this girl started smoking at 13 and got cancer at 19 and now talks out of one of those voice-makers in her throat. When I do smoke, I usually smoke 2-4 in one day. I do not smoke every day. Every week, it’s usually 2-3 days that I smoke, if any.

The girl in the commercial said that she started having a chronic scratchy throat and it turned out to be cancer. I usually have a scratchy throat and I have a hard time running consistently because I get winded (and I’m not fat). Basically, I am extremely worried now and am trying to quit, because I don’t want to die that way. My mother was a smoker at my age for 6 months and she quit. She’s fine now, apparently. But anyway am I at risk? Do you think that I might have it? How long would I have to smoke to get it if I don’t already?

Don’t worry, you’re just paranoid. Cancer takes years to develop though you should quit now. Nicotine is one hell of a drug and you don’t want to live your life around it. Smoking damages the lungs, that’s most likely the reason why you get winded easily. Like I said though, quit while you’re ahead.

Leave a Reply

